Welcome to the History Trust of South Australia!

Who are we?

The History Trust of South Australia operates three museums – the Migration Museum, the National Motor Museum and the South Australian Maritime Museum. Complementing those established museums is The Centre of Democracy – an exciting collaboration with the State Library of South Australia. We also partner with other Australian museums to present exhibitions.

In support of South Australia’s history network of committed volunteer associations and local history specialists, we manage a Community Museums Program and offer annual grants for research and writing to promote the value of history and our place in the world. Every year we present South Australia’s History Festival – a statewide celebration of community history, collections and heritage. We present great community events such as the Bay to Birdwood historic vehicle run and other events, festivals and celebrations on South Australia’s cultural calendar.

Want to know more about what we do? Want to donate or become a volunteer? Fill in the form below!

Get in touch