Bravest of the Brave

This travelling exhibition tells the moving stories of the eight South Australians awarded the Victoria Cross (VC) in the First World War: Arthur Blackburn, Phillip Davey, Roy Inwood, Jørgen Jensen, John Leak, Arthur Sullivan, Lawrence Weathers and James Parks Woods.

The exhibition was first produced in 2013 as a partnership between the History Trust of South Australia and Veterans SA to commemorate the Centenary of the First World War.

Bravest of the Brave consists of seven double-sided pull-up banners and four wooden crates which double as plinths to display framed citations and replica sets of medals, including the VCs belonging to the eight men. It also includes a schools’ resources kit.  Images of the seven double-sided pull-up banners and the eight frames can be seen here