Suffrage 125

The Centre of Democracy and the History Trust of South Australia is marking 125 years of women’s suffrage in the State by coordinating a series of programs and events throughout South Australia. In December 1894, after decades of activism, women in South Australia were awarded the right to vote and stand for parliament. In 2019 we will celebrate the victory of the early suffragists such as Mary Lee, Augusta Zadow, Catherine Helen Spence and those who joined the fight. The Suffrage 125 initiative will explore issues of gender equality over the past 125 years.

Visit the Centre of Democracy’s website for event news or sign up to our newsletter if you’d like to stay tuned for updates on this initiative and receive a fully fledged program in the coming months.

The History Trust of South Australia will be coordinating a series of community based projects supporting the anniversary and if you would like to donate to a project fund that will help realise this initiative then please donate here.

For more on this historic milestone visit the SA History Hub.